Simple Craft Paper Placemats

Friday’s Loveliness – DIY Funsies

I am all about DIY’ing weddings. Weddings are expensive enough as it it – why waste more money on freshly pressed flower petals that will be thrown and then forgotten or favours that will be pushed to the side once your guests sit down and forgotten or expensive decor that will be oooohed at and then forgotten?

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m sure if we had won the lottery we’d go all out but the Boy and I didn’t want to spend all those additional hard earned pounds when we knew we could make these little touches ourselves.

And so we did. We made signs for the venue – cost all of £0. The Boy got offcuts from work, cut them up himself and painted them. I made my Bridesmaids robes – cost £45 for the material, I made 5 robes and have enough material left over to make another 5 more. We handcut the confetti and I sewed the tracing paper bags – £5 for tissue paper and tracing paper. The list goes on and I promise I’ll go into more detail in further posts. I won’t lie, yes creating all these little special touches took time. We had a 18 months of time so with planning it’s all possible.

Anyway I saw this post pop up from Buzzfeed and thought it was perfect to share – 37 Things to DIY Instead of Buy for Your Wedding. Check out some of these beautiful things to make:

Floral Table Centerpiece

Floral Table Centerpiece

Chair Seating Cards

Chair Seating Cards

Dip-Dyed Thrifted Silverware

Dip-Dyed Thrifted Silverware

Simple Craft Paper Placemats

Simple Craft Paper Placemats

Freestanding Giant Star Lights

Freestanding Giant Star Lights

LOVING the giant star light – I think might make some for my new flat!

Are you Brides planning any on getting your DIY skills on in the run up to the big day?

Love lots xx

Leave a Reply

