Boudoir Photography – to do or not to do?

Why hello there.

I’ve got a bit of a saucy one for you today. Yep, let’s talk about getting your kit off. In front of a camera. And posing in a somewhat seductive manner. Without feeling and looking like an absolute idiot.

I’m not too sure if you know what I’m talking about but Boudoir Photography has somewhat become very popular in the last couple of years and I’ve seen plenty o’ pins on good old Pinterest.  Some not all good though I must hasten to add. Essentially, Boudoir shots involve taking your clothes off, looking hot whilst having your photo taken. Why put yourself through that I hear you ask?  Well sometimes you might feel like giving yourself some self-love, or perhaps you’ve worked hard to get your body into an incredible shape and would like to document it or perhaps it makes a good wedding present for the other half.

I went for the latter.

The Boy loves confident women and I’d say I’m not shy in front of the camera (thanks to my younger years as a amateur model and Beauty pageant contestant. Yes I know. The SHAME of it!). I had shifted some pounds and was probably physically fitter than ever and was really struggling what to get the Boy as his wedding present. I wanted something special. Something that he / we could look back in 40 years and for him to remember the woman he married. Also I have a fantastic friend Manon – check her out her website here   (FYI – Manon took our incred Engagement photos here) who wanted to add to her portfolio. Bonus!

So we put our heads together in secret squirrel meetings, pinned like crazy and set a date. I was adamant that I did not want any cheesy, over the top, trying too hard sexy shots. I just wanted to look like me but hotter. Luckily Manon’s bedroom had incredible light. Double bonus.

Here are a few shots that we sort of used as inspiration:

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the beach

Pic Credit – Unknown

2. Apostriphe9

Pic credit – Apostrophe 9

Boudoir Photography

Pic credit – Unknown

Boudoir Photography

Pic credit – O-la-la-mademoiselle

 

Boudoir Photography - Bride By the Beach

Pic credit – Tumblr

Pretty hot right? Without being too overtly sexy we thought. So that’s what we tried to envisage. So armed with some pretty pants and make up, I gave it my best shot. I thought about getting pretty drunk beforehand but I tend to get a bit blotchy so that was a no-no. However, as Manon is close friend, getting my kit off and posing wasn’t as scary as first thought. She was amazing and put me right as ease, getting the right poses for me and the best light.

*Deep breath* So here are a few of the photos that’m happy to share.  The “Hot Hot” ones are for The Boy’s eyes only mind.

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

 

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

Boudoir Photography - Bride by the Beach

Pic credit – Manon Pauffin

I was and am  really pleased with the final pictures. And once I had made a little black book for the Hubby to be with the chosen photos to open on the morning of the wedding, I think he was pretty pleased with his present too.

So, thoughts on Boudoir pics for you or your other half? Is it a hell yeah? Or a hmmmm not too sure?  Well this little article here from Theknot.com might answer questions. Or feel free to drop me a line!

Until next time lovelies!

PS. I asked Manon to Photoshop on a 6-pac. She said no.

xxx

Leave a Reply

