Eating Clean and Training Mean

It’s that time of the year isn’t it. Flocks of people heading to the gym, new runners on the seafront, Dry January and all the rest.  I’m so up for people having new Year’s resolutions and saying that they’re going to cut back on drinking, smoking and start to eat healthy and work out more, but come mid February, these good intentions seem to have gone out the window.

Not for me. I’m sure every bride to be is on a health kick in the lead up to their big day and I’ll be the first one to raise my hand and say that over the last 2 months, I have been epically lazy.  Shoving lots of bread, pasta, chocolate and wine down my gob and having no motivation to work out.  And it definitely shows.  I’ve lost most of the muscle tone I created whilst training for last year’s Triathalon, have no energy and look like a spotty 14 year old. Great.

Not anymore.  Me and the Boy are on a massive health kick. As mentioned Operation “Get Buff for Beefa” is ON. I found out last week that my Body shape is a typical Apple Shape. Which means, skinny legs and small arse but plenty of weight on my arms and stomach.  Yep that’s me alright. To stay in shape, this article said I need to do lots of cardio to tone up my problem areas and cut down on the weight training.  So hopefully my training plan of lots of running, swimming and cycling with a few Boxercise classes thrown in will get me to my desired Buff for ‘Beefa body.

What else?  So I’ve create a meal plan every weekend for the upcoming week so I know exactly what I’m shovelling down my gob.  I’m not cutting out all the carbs because I’d go crazy but just substitued these for the better kind. So out with the white and in with the brown – brown rice, pasta and wholemeal bread. Minimal carbs for dinner and minimal bis’quits, chocolate and sugar.  I’m definitely not giving up booze because life wouldn’t be worth living but cutting down a little and sticking to vodka and soda or white wine spritzers (hopefully cuts down on the hangovers too!)

I’ve found some very yummy recipies which have gone down a treat in our household and I had to share them with you.

Breakfast:

Found this great recipie on The Black Pearl Blog for breakfast pancakes using 4 ingredients. 1 x ripe banana, 2 eggs, 1 x scoop protein powder and a splash of milk. Oh an a pinch of backing powder if you have it. I used the Boy’s protein powder which tastes like Angel Delight and the pancakes were delish! Recipe can be found here.

Yummy Protein Pancakes. pic credit: The Black Pearl Blog

Yummy Protein Pancakes. pic credit: The Black Pearl Blog

Lunchtime:

The Boy is follwing the Men’s Health V8 Challenge as he justs wants to bulk up a little and they have some fab recipies on their website.  A very tasty receipe was this salmon and soba noodles parcel. And talk about easy! Someone with no culinary skills can make it.  Just boil the Soba noodles (wholewheat noodles which can be bought from any Oriental store) for 4 mins, lay it on a piece of foil, top with spinach, carrots, mushrooms, garlic, spring onions and 1 x salmon steak. A splash of soy sauce, close the parcel and bung in oven for 15 mins. Take out, unwrap, eat. Delish recipe can be found here:

Slamon and Soba Noodles Parcel. Pic credit: Men's Health

Slamon and Soba Noodles Parcel. Pic credit: Men’s Health

Dinner:

Yet another recipie from Men’s Health. Easy peasy Grilled Green Chicken.  You need to plan ahead for this one but it will be worth it – trust me. It involves chicken thighs skin off and de-boned, yogurt, mint, corriander (I used dried) Garam Masala spice or whatever Curry paste you’ll prob have in the fridge and 1 x chilli. Chuck all the ingredients together bar the chicken, mix it up proper good so it’s a paste and then pour over chicken and leave to marinate for at least a few hours or overnight. Take it out, wipe off most of the paste and chuck under grill until cooked. Serve with Brown rice and / or Salad. Delish x 2! Recipe found here

Grilled Green Chicken. pic credit: Men's Health

Grilled Green Chicken. Pic credit: Men’s Health

Seriously, who knew healthy food can be so yummy?!

Ok, I’m off to trawl the net for more recipies for next week’s meal plan. Holla back if you’ve got any great recipies up your sleeve!

xxxx

Leave a Reply

