Our Save the Dates plus a DIY extra.

So the Save the Dates have all been posted and we love them!

They’re a mix n match of ideas from Pinterest and our own little spin. A little controversial but totally us through and through. Designed and artworked by my beautiful Maid of Honour. She’s just a tad bit amazing isn’t she.

20130717_122929_1

They’re A5 size and printed on 200gsm card, matt finish (you can tell I work for a marketing agency can’t you) and were posted in black DIY feather lined envelopes.

Luckily we only had to send out 30 invites so making the envelopes weren’t too time consuming, I think I managed to get them all done over a couple of nights with the HTB cutting out like a trooper.

So are you ready?  Here’s one I made earlier….

Step 1 – Measure and cut the perfect envelope template. It took a few trial and errors to get the right template measurements for the envelope but once I got the right fit I cut it out of card to allow for quicker pencil draw-around before cutting. TIP – use the save the date as your stencil and use lined paper initially to fold the envelope around it.

The perfect template.

The perfect template.

Step 2 – Place on your chosen envelope paper / material and draw around.

image-2

Step 3 – You’re left with a perfect cut out ready to start folding.

image (3)

Step 4 –  Fold down the sides, ensuring your invitation slots nicely and comfortably between the folds.

image-4

Step 5 – Get out the double sided sticky tape (make sure it’s the good stuff otherwise the envelope could fall apart in the post) and cut enough to secure the sides down.

image (5)

Step 6 – Self explanatory….

image (6)

Step 7 – I lined our envelopes with the feather motif from the invitations.  To make the liner paper was tres tres easy.  I didn’t use any fancy programs or nuffink.  Just good ol Powerpoint. I just dropped the jpegs into a blank Powerpoint sheet and tweaked a bit so that they were all the right size, copied and pasted until I had a row, then copied and pasted that row until it filled the page. Easy patooties.

So then place your beautiful envelope on top and draw around it with the flap up.  Then cut perhaps half an inch off the bottom and slide it in. The liner flap point should line up directly underneath the envelope point.

image (7)

Step 8 – You might have to snip a bit of the liner paper here and there but once you’re happy with it, glue down the liner flap to the envelope flap, leaving the rest of the liner paper unglued in the envelope.  This probably isn’t the most professional way to do it but it meant that there was no paper wrinkling when folding the flap down. You can’t really tell it’s not stuck down anyway.

image (8)

Finished!

Finished!

We used a Silver Sharpie to address the envelopes as the ink really stood out on the black paper.

Total cost of our Save the Dates? £4.99. Our printers that I use for work printers printed the invitations FOC for me (I owe him a drink!), I bought the black card on Ebay, my gorgeous MOH designed them and I printed the liner paper at work. It cost us more to mail them out then it did to make them. Cray Cray right?!

I know invitations can be quite expensive so with a little DIY, creativity and double sided tape you too can make something lovely and for the fraction of the price.

Let me know what DIY you guys are doing or send me pics if you can – I love seeing the creativity shine! xxx

Leave a Reply

