Smoothie me up.

It’s just under six weeks until my Triathalon and I’m not going to lie – I’m bricking it. Who’s stupid idea was it to do a Triathalon?! Oh yes – mine.

I have been training and I was seriously struggling with cycling training as it was taking me about 40 minutes to cycle 6 miles and I wasn’t getting any quicker.  That was until I swapped my tinpot excuse of a bike for the Boy’s racing bike and cut my time in half. BOOM! Lesson of the day – sometimes the motto “a bad workman always blames his tools” could actually be wrong. So if you know you’re getting fitter but not getting faster perhaps you need new running trainers or in my case a new bike.

But anywho – measured myself last week and I’ve lost another 2 inches making that 10 inches lost since January which is fantastico because I’ll be running around in a bikini in just over a weeks time!

Diet wise, I’ve been upping my intake of fruit and veg and the easiest way to get your 5 a day is a good ol’ smoothie. Good news for me is that a brand new smoothie bar called Boost has opened up in Brighton and they serve a wide range of tasty, healthy smoothies and juices – yum-o.

I love smoothies because they’re are packed full of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants which can give you an energy lift or aid weight loss as they’re basically a meal in a cup! I tried a yummy Gym Junkie Super Smoothie which had strawberries, banana, TD4 vanilla yoghurt and ice with super powers (a protein PLUS booster) just before a training session and it worked like a charm.

I was also just perusing Pinterest (as you do when you’re planning a wedding – I start to get the shakes if I haven’t logged in within 24 hours) and found this bright beauty of a smoothie from Tales of a Kitchen

cucumber-smoothie01

Pic credit: Tales of a Kitchen

It’s got lots of good stuff in it – cucumber, spinach, apple, ginger and therefore bursting with vitamins, fibre, magnesium, iron, calcium and potassium. Just what the Doctor ordered. Yummy recipe can be found here – I’ll definitely be making this on the weekend to hopefully combat my standard Bank Holiday Weekend hangover from hell. Will you be joining me? xxx

Leave a Reply

