My Beautiful Bridesmaids

When the Boy proposed and we discussed our dream wedding, we thought a beautiful, intimate ceremony on the beach would be just perfect.

I thought it would be silly to have a large bridal party for a small wedding with 40 guests, so I initially asked one of my oldest childhood friends whether she would do the honour of being my bridesmaid,  which she happily said yes – phew!

I have known her since she was in her nappies, she’s the youngest daughter of my Mum’s best friend. We grew up together, went to the same schools, ate at each other’s houses, partied together, cried together, laughed with each other and she and her sister have been there for my family through thick and thin.  She’s like a sister to me.  Plus she’s an incredibly talented designer who I’ve co-ereced into designing all my wedding stationary (and she created my Bride by the Beach logo – isn’t she lovely!)

However, I also have three other amazing friends who I’ve met at Uni and the more I thought about it, the more I realised that I couldn’t NOT have them there by my side.  This year would be our 10 year anniversary of our friendship and we’ve been through soooooo much together. They are the most awesome girls I’ve ever met, hearts of gold, patient, beautiful, smart, loyal and full of love, life and laughter.  I couldn’t have gotten through University without them or danced so much without them.  Even though we now live all over the UK, we still make the effort to see each other every few months and have the bestest time drinking the vino and giggling away. They just have to be my Bridesmaids.

So with that in mind, I thought to myself, how best to ask them?  I saw lots of things on the net like little necklaces, bridesmaids gift bags, cards etc but wanted something a little original so I made a Powerpoint presentation! Yep you heard me a Powerpoint presentation. And yes I am a little bit geeky.

We were able to all get together a few weeks ago and I sat them down and played it out – here are a few of the slides:

Asking my Bridesmaids 1

Asking my Bridesmaids 2

Asking my Bridesmaids 3

Asking my Bridesmaids 4

Asking my Bridesmaids 5

They didn’t have a clue what was it was about but once they realised, they were over the moon!

Now I’ll have four stunning girls by my side on my big day to hold my hand, fix my hair, smooth my dress and even pull me down from the bathroom window if I get cold feet.

And if you’re struggling about who to choose as your Bridesmaids for your big day, give this fab article from Wedding Party a read.  I love you girlies! xx

Leave a Reply

